

Da	ite:	September 27, 2023
То:		Board of Directors
From:		Ozzie Gonzalez, Board President
Subject:		RESOLUTION NO. 23-09-39 OF THE TRI-COUNTY METROPOLITAN TRANSPORTATION DISTRICT OF OREGON (TRIMET) CONFIRMING BOARD MEMBER COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS
1.	Purpose of Item This Resolution requests that the TriMet Board of Directors (Board) confirm Board member committee appointments.	
2.	Initial Contra	Contract act Modification Confirmation of Board Member Committee Appointments
3.		or Board Action anges in Board officers and membership necessitate confirming new committee ents.
4.		

# 5. Background

Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 267.120(1) requires the TriMet Board to elect new Board officers every two years. At its June 2023 meeting the Board elected Ozzie Gonzalez as President, Dr. LaVerne Lewis as Vice President, and Kathy Wai as Secretary/Treasurer. In addition, since June 1, 2023 two previous Board members have rotated off the Board (Lori Irish Bauman and Linda Simmons) and two new board members have been appointed (Tyler Frisbee and Robert Kellogg). These changes in Board officers and members necessitate confirming new board member committee appointments.

ORS Chapter 267 authorizes the General Manager to establish committees, while TriMet Code Chapter 2.35 authorizes the Board President to appoint committee members. Historically, the General Manager and the Board President consult regarding proposed appointments to Board committees, then the Board votes to confirm those appointments. The Board most recently confirmed committee appointments in May 2021, via Resolution No. 21-05-18.

Effective October 1, 2023, the newly appointed Board committee members and role of the Committees are listed below:

## Accountability Committee – Robert Kellogg

The Accountability Committee was organized in November 2013 to consider ever changing informational needs and to ensure that the agency's public website contains the most relevant, accurate, and useful information. In addition, the Accountability Committee considers technological advances that can further these goals in cost-effective and innovative ways. The Accountability Committee is made up of appropriate staff and one Board member and reports its recommendations to the General Manager.

### Crash Advisory Committee – Robert Kellogg

This seven-member committee identifies and reviews certain crashes involving TriMet buses/trains in an effort to improve public safety, build understanding and awareness of the reasons for crashes, and avoid future crashes. One board member serves on the Committee and the remaining members are appointed by the TriMet General Manager for a four-year term.

#### • Committee on Accessible Transportation (CAT) – Keith Edwards

The CAT committee was formed in 1985 to advise the TriMet Board and staff on plans, policies, and programs for seniors and/or people with disabilities. CAT has 15 community members: eight seniors and/or people with disabilities who use TriMet, six representatives of seniors and/or people with disabilities and one local government representative, as well as one member of the TriMet Board. All CAT members are appointed by the General Manager for a two-year term. Together with TriMet staff, CAT develops an annual work plan to identify major issues and prioritize the year's activities.

# • Finance & Audit Committee – Dr. LaVerne Lewis, Chair; Ozzie Gonzalez and Kathy Wai

The Finance & Audit Committee assists the Board with oversight of TriMet's financial strategy and objectives, the integrity of TriMet's financial statements, the independent auditor's qualifications and independence, significant financial transactions, and TriMet's enterprise risk issues, programs, management practices, and initiatives to ensure that systems and risk management tools are in place and functioning effectively.

#### • Metropolitan Policy Advisory Committee (MPAC) – Thomas Kim

Established by the Metro Charter in 1992, MPAC advises the Metro Council on the amendment or adoption of the Regional Framework Plan, which includes issues surrounding regional transportation and management of the urban growth boundary. MPAC is composed of 21 voting members representing cities, counties, special districts, and the public and six non-voting members. A TriMet Board member serves on the Committee.

# • Transit Equity Advisory Committee (TEAC) – Tyler Frisbee

The TEAC is an advisory committee representing a diverse cross-section of community leaders charged with providing insights and guidance to the General Manager on transit equity and transit access issues. The TEAC was organized in May 2013 to extend the agency's outreach and involvement to transit dependent riders, as well as serve as a link to community-based organizations. In 2018, TEAC was expanded beyond its 12 members to include more voices in TriMet's equity efforts. The TEAC provides direction on the agency's transit equity strategy, including input and guidance on equity issues related to Title VI and Environmental Justice analysis, service planning, operational and capital investments, improving service to transit dependent riders, and disseminating information about transportation services to community-based organizations, social service agencies, and the community at large. Committee members are appointed by the General Manager with one Board member serving as a liaison.

#### **RESOLUTION NO. 23-09-39**

# RESOLUTION NO. 23-09-39 OF THE TRI-COUNTY METROPOLITAN TRANSPORTATION DISTRICT OF OREGON (TRIMET) CONFIRMING BOARD MEMBER COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

WHEREAS, ORS 267.120(1) authorizes the TriMet Board of Directors (Board) to elect Board Officers; and

WHEREAS, ORS Chapter 267 authorizes the General Manager to establish Board committees and TriMet Code Chapter 2.35 authorizes the Board President to appoint Board committee members; and

WHEREAS, to ensure public clarity and transparency concerning Board committees and the Board members appointed to serve on them;

#### NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED:

- 1. Effective October 1, 2023 the following Board members are appointed to serve on the following committees:
  - a. Accountability Committee: Robert Kellogg
  - b. Crash Advisory Committee: Robert Kellogg
  - c. Committee for Accessible Transportation (CAT): Keith Edwards
  - d. Finance and Audit Committee: Dr. LaVerne Lewis, Chair; Ozzie Gonzalez and Kathy Wai
  - e. Metropolitan Policy Advisory Committee (MPAC): Thomas Kim
  - f. Transit Equity Advisory Committee (TEAC): Tyler Frisbee

Dated: September 27, 2023

Attest:

Recording Secretary

Approved as to Legal Sufficiency:

ing Officer

General Counsel